Marmite Beef Jerky (1st attempt)

I had a sudden brainwave to create a beef jerky with Marmite, I don’t know why because there are plenty of other flavours to choose from, but I think it’s because I was hungry and my mind must have cast back to what I would have done about it: something on toast.

This is only a small batch, for reasons of thrift as I fear I will not do it justice on my first attempt, but will be determined to have another go, if not more, because I think there’s something unexplored here.

Initially I went online to see the efforts of others, I just wanted to make it and usually other’s have made the mistakes, but, unfathomably, it appears never to have been reported online before!

I must ameliorate this!

 

INGREDIENTS

1.png
the family of ingredients
x.png
this is what packaged beef looks like in the UK

Marmite wouldn’t quite be Marmite unless it was out of date: resulting in Dynamite Marmite! It’s one of those things that you find in the back of your cupboard, but fear not, just think of it as Honey or boot polish, it never goes off!

2.png
BBE: March 2014 👻

At first I only was confident enough to immerse one flat tablespoon of the good old brown stuff in 100ml of warm water (40°C). The resulting effect was to a builders tea like complexion, but this is all about taste and so I mustn’t forget to do so as I go along… It had all the Marmitey® goodness, especially with that tepid warm water bringing back schoolboy Sunday memories.

 

However, 1tsp was just nowhere near strong enough for me! This is the “XO” variety, so let us not lark about: another flat spoon will be the new minimum! Now, as if by magic, the whole solution had risen in power!

Behold: Marmite Water™ A new market development for the PR department!

 

Alas, although Marmite would be the star of the show, no Sunday roast (on toast) would be complete without all the trimmings: I had a rummage to see what scents would work with Mr. Brown, best trying to imagine on my tongue how that might play out:

  • Orange Peel
  • Cinnamon
  • Crushed Chillies
  • Black Peppercorns
  • Liquid Smoke
5.png
a good assortment

I am unsure how much of a distraction this little lot could be, and will likely spend the next opportunity I have deducting those who don’t pull in the same direction, but for now I felt this short list would enhance the flavour more than mask it.

At three heaped tablespoons I fear that the Orange Peel may overpower the batch, but I swore to up the ante from a previous effort, this is just revenge on its part. The rest will likely add too much heat, I could probably do without the chillies, just good old boring one time luxury pepper corns would likely suffice, but we shall see..

I had to sneak in some Liquid Smoke after watching a number of Joe’s Southern Coastal Cooking videos as he always smokes meats, I have been persuaded. Having tried a sip after mixing with the Marmite Water™ I don’t believe it can knock Marmite off it’s perch.

6.png
a 24hr marinading period awaits…

 

 

7.png
not much to this marinade with only 100ml of water

 

50℃ / 122℉ .. 9hrs later:

8a
wow, look at that bark from the orange peel!

 

 

TASTE

One of the first things that I noticed was that it was cold, Marmite always seemed to be a warm event for me, but of course it’s been left to cool down. A large part of taste is smell, and that hits you with an immediate smokey puff, and it’s just as well because it tastes like cardboard, pretty obvious if you dilute the substances going in, when will I learn!

There is smoke in there, it did come through, yet I only put a little in, so I think there may be something else at play: possibly the cinnamon, I can’t be sure, but I think that would add spice, echoing heat is the foremost feeling left in the roof of my mouth after each bite. Aside from the heat, this batch is plain from start to finish, there is always the citrus that pokes through, if you get a bite of it (easily done as it’s the visible bark on the outside), but you’re left hunting for all that flavour you thought you put in.

 

MEAT CONSISTENCY

The batch had turned out to be a very dry, stick thin batch, much of it tearing easily as I was cautious to cut against the grain – just how I like it. Overall, without the flavour punch, it unfortunately comes across like supermarket faux-jerky, sort of the “chip-board of the wood-mason world” as it looks the part but falls short on body and flavour. Dry to the touch, the seemingly abrasive orange peel like barnacles deceptively melt in the mouth, rather than scratch, presenting itself in a traditional manner one would hope to see from any beef jerky batch. You’ll not be chewing for as long as you’d think, there’s little to extract but heat and I’m certainly not a heat person (I always underestimate those devious peppercorns).

 

CONCLUSION

I always forget that jerky demands an overdose of flavour (this does not apply to chilli however) and what may seem harsh in a marinade form, does not need any help from water, it just doesn’t work that way. This was to be all about Marmite and it’s barely come through, I’ll slather it strait on for a second attempt, if that doesn’t work then nothing will. Hesitating that it would turn out too oily (like using Balsamic Vinegar, which I find doesn’t evaporate) and hard to tear (even squeaky on teeth 😬) I always play it safe, too safe for the mighty Marmite, in the end I tarnished it’s name with this lacklustre effort.

The key to making the Orange Peel work was to be overly confident with it, I forget that jerky is so resource intensive, which makes sense as citrus is a high-note after all. Aside from the appearance and texture of the peel (the barnacle bark look works so well I’m going to use it again whenever I can) the flavour comes through no more than you’d want, yet I suspect it could even add a little hint of bitterness behind the scenes, I’m not one hundred per cent sure of that mind, but I like it enough to pursue the technique.

Defiant, with a second batch on the way soon, I can immediately strike the Cinnamon and Chilly Flakes from the marinade, relying solely on the peppercorns for moderate heat, and citrus given the role of bringing back memories in place of the Cinnamon, whose heat a distant requirement as it’s just not that needed in British cuisine.

I am determined to allow the Marmite to come through, an unadulterated helping should prove it’s abilities after a nine hour dehydrating marathon, more soldiers!

8b
I had to reach for the Unagi No Tare again to save this one

 

P.S. don’t watch “fails” video on YouTube for fear of laughing a the wrong time may lodge hot pepper in your nose, forever searing you as others fail just as hard!

One thought on “Marmite Beef Jerky (1st attempt)

Leave a comment